Forks over Knives and dietary guidelines

Dear Foodies 🙂 I had a great food documentary experience a few days ago- namely I watched the movie ‘Forks over Knives‘. I must admit I’m pretty easily fascinated by shocking data about mankind especially if they are about nutrition… and this documentary is packed with those.

The basic idea is that we, human beings should pretty much avoid animal-based protein. Throughout the movie, highly respected doctors and scientists list the myriad of evidence from statistical and scientific research in order to prove: animal protein is BAD for us and we should all follow a plant-based diet.
And I must say they do it really very efficiently, the message is clear and frightening.

I am very impressed by what I saw, however I must say the responses for the movie are quite divided. Some people are worshiping the plant-based diet, some of them say it’s a total fraud.

Obsiously we cannot know the real truth (which most probably does not exist), but what’s sure is that the USDA revises the dietary guidelines for Americans– and I am very curious how big and radical the changes would be… Honestly, I hope to see some moves towards a more balanced diet. Not only in the recommendations, but also in policy measures and eventually in everyday life.

Here is the trailer of the movie, I recommend it to everyone who’s interested in food documentaries, foody policy, nutrition and health in general- this is defintiely something that you should take into consideration.

L.

About Luca Utassy

Horticulture, agriculture, food and communication. This is what I love and do. From seeds through production, plant health, marketing, animal breeding, economy, policy, foodsafety, food quality and so on... I love this full package and I would love to share my enthusiasm and generate a little agrilover foodie-environment here :)
This entry was posted in Interesting stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

